Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church was started by members of St. Paul Lutheran Church, North Park, who were living in Gibsonia and because of transportation difficulties felt they should have their own church. The charter for the congregation was granted on September 30, 1911, and the first building, which was at the present location, was dedicated on November 11, 1911.
In 1915 Trinity joined St. Paul Lutheran Church in North Park, forming a parish. Prior to the church being built, Sunday School was conducted in private homes and in the old public school building. In 1933, the basement of the church was remodeded to make classroom space.
In 1947, Trinity called its first full time pastor, The Rev. J. Edward Schmidt. At that time a parsonage was built and it was attached to the church building. In the late 1940's, the community began to grow and the congregation's membership also grew. To relieve the overcrowded Sunday School classrooms, a new parsonage was built across the road from the the church. The old parsonage was then used for educational purposes. The new parsonage was dedicated in February 1956.
Soon the Sunday School classrooms were crowded again, as was the sanctuary. Two vacant lots adjacent to the church were purchased. A portion of one of them was converted into a parking lot in January 1960. On May 22, 1960, the congregation dedicated a new worship facility.
In 1968, the congregation erected Trill House and then on September 23, 1979, a new sanctuary was dedicated. This building is what is currently being used and it is unique in that it has a circular altar.